“Like Us” on Facebook!
*Enter to WIN & Newsletter

A FREE Vedic Astrology Reading

In addition to receiving Our Informative Newsletters You are Entering to Win!

Click Here to Sign Up!

*one winner every 8 weeks
Vedic Astrology Readings
Click here to find out more about Vedic Astrology and schedule a reading

Uncover your innate nature with a Vedic Astrology Reading
...click here NOW to schedule your reading


“My reading with Marina Baroni was breathtakingly accurate. She pinpointed my strengths, areas of development and inner landscape to such an extent that I felt like I was talking to someone who had known me for years and years..." ---Jessica S.

Click here for more.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Click here now to visit the National Association of Ayurveda Practitioners
View Your Cart

What is Vedic Astrology?

What is Vedic Astrology? Vedic Astrology Readings Los AngelesVedic Astrology is an ancient Indian system also known as Jyotish which literally means the Lord of Light.  “Light” in the astrological context refers to the influence of the luminaries (Sun, Moon, planets and stars) on the Earth and its inhabitants; but it also suggests the function of illumination and insight that astrology has had for thousands of years on human life, helping mankind in the quest for happiness and self-knowledge.


History of Vedic Astrology

It is difficult to say when this astrological system originated and which other cultures may have influenced its evolution.  Like Yoga and Ayurveda, its sister sciences, Jyotish has ancient roots which go back to a time when knowledge was transmitted orally from teacher to student.  The first written record of Vedic Astrology is found in the Rig Veda, the oldest of the Vedas (Indian scriptures), dating back to 5,000 BC; later references are found in Indian Epics such as the Ramayana and Mahabharata which date back to approximately 3,000 BC.  The Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra, one of the most ancient astrological work, was compiled around 3,000 BC as well.

The Natal Chart

Vedic Astrology, being part of the Vedic philosophical system, describes human life as the descent of universal, unbounded consciousness into a human body. The moment this consciousness enters the physical body it forgets its own nature.  Human life therefore becomes the journey of remembering who we really are and where we came from. From that point of view the planets and the signs of the zodiac represent the various stages of evolution towards self-realization as well as other important factors about a person’s character and life.

An individual’s natal chart is a map of the sky at the time of a person’s birth, revealing the exact astronomical positions of the Sun, Moon and planets. It is the blueprint of the karmic impressions, or unconscious feelings and beliefs carried over from past lives. The astrological chart plots out the personal tendencies, weaknesses, talents, likes and dislikes shaping the unique life a person will have.  The more awareness an individual gains about oneself, the more freedom of choice one has to create a happy and fulfilling life.

Vedic Astology signs of the zodiac Vedic Astrologer Marina BaroniHow is Vedic Astrology different from Western Astrology?

Vedic Astrology is based on the Sidereal Zodiac while Western Astrology uses the Tropical Zodiac. The Tropical Zodiac is based on the seasons, the relationship between the Earth and the Sun and it marks the entry of the Sun into the sign of Aries with the Spring equinox, the first day of spring. The Sidereal Zodiac measures the planetary positions against the position of the stars instead of the Earth.       2,000 years ago the two systems coincided.  Today the difference between the two systems is between 23 and 24 degrees, and the first day of spring no longer coincides with the Sun’s entry in the sign of Aries, but falls over the sign of Pisces.  The gap is due to the precession of the equinox: a small wobble in the Earth’s rotation which causes the Sun to be located 50 seconds further back in the zodiac every year on the first day of spring.  In the Western system the Sun is still in the sign of Aries from March 21 (Spring equinox) to April 21, today in the Vedic system the Sun is in Aries from April 13 to May 14 due to the precession.

The following are aspects of Vedic Astrology that are not used in Western Astrology.

  1. In addition to the 12 signs Vedic Astrology uses the Nakshatras or constellations. There are 27 Nakshatras, each constellation has a specific energy and deity that rules over it.  Nakshatras are connected to numerous symbols, tales and myths which allow the Vedic astrologer to gather detailed information about a person’s personality and talents.
  2. Vedic Astrology divides each sign of the Zodiac in three parts called Drekkanas.  Similarly to the Nakshatras the Drekkanas are rich in symbolism and add another layer to the interpretation of the Natal Chart.
  3. Vedic Astrology is predictive in nature. In addition to the planetary transits it uses a forecasting system called Vimshottari Dasha which reveals what part of the horoscope is active at what time.
  4. Besides the Natal Chart the Vedic system utilizes 15 Divisional charts called Vargas.  Each divisional chart describes a specific area of life; there is a divisional chart for career, health, relationships, education and so forth.

Click here now to schedule your Vedic Astrology Reading.

Marina Baroni, Vedic Astrologer was introduced to Vedic Astrology during her Ayurvedic training and carried on her study with James Kelleher, one of the most prominent Vedic astrologers and teachers living in the West .

If you are looking for a Vedic Astrologist that can provide you a Vedic Astrology reading and horoscope to better understand your innate nature and path in life, please contact Marina Baroni.

Though she does often provide remote Vedic Astrology horoscopes and readings, she is available in person to those living in the greater Los Angeles area including Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, Manhattan Beach and Culver City California.  Click here for her Vedic Astrology testimonials or here to schedule a reading.